DADAROMA – ルシッド ドリーム(Lucid Dream) Translation

Kanji-Romaji

Translation

Title: Lucid Dream

In a night of attempted suicides, dance languidly

these words and the era which clasps my neck.

 

The childish dream to which can not return

The childish dream to which can not return

 

The dream in which I look away from my carbonized body is…

 

Quietly, quietly, quietly kill me,

put an end to me.

But now, let me embrace my trembling hope

and fall.

 

In the night, the idea embedded in my right hand

sadly meets my eyes.

 

This morning I opened my eyes and it was all grey,

even the red sofa in the room I got used to see was grey.

And then I realized that the dream had ended,

I was just holding in my right hand a roll of bills.

 

Quietly, quietly, quietly kill me

before a new day comes.

Ah, I would like to hold onto those peaceful days

and just fall asleep in this place.

 

The childish dream to which can not return

The childish dream to which can not return

 

LUCID DREAM

 

I hurt you, what will be the next dream now?

Even love, even my voice,

everyone, just disappear already!

Ah, in the starry sky, the me I imagined,

that song and that promise…

Notes and explanation

Words in italic are in English in the original lyrics.

The song is about the lost of hope in a way that reality seems like an illusion: when the artist was young he used to have a dream, but now it seems that he lives in such a dream while being partially awaken (or simply: lucid dreaming). When will the dream end? How will it end? Nobody knows, but everything looks already too much grey.

I really liked the idea that when the artist was dreaming as young boy he kept his ideal in his hands, but when he awakens in the same hand there’s just a pack of bills, as if ideals as well are destined to become something futile as money. The right hand also is a simbol for Buddhist Enlightment.

I think that’s all for now, don’t get too sad. Bye!

2 thoughts on “DADAROMA – ルシッド ドリーム(Lucid Dream) Translation

Leave a Reply

