Vistlip – Rem Sleep Translation

Kanji-Romaji

Translation

Here’s the darkness of the dream,

the sound of the bell is the check-in,

every time I lose my way, the communication interrupts.

As if I started to walk, I regain consciousness,

In the letter written in the past there wasn’t any mistake?

The “me” who writes the header while continuously stumbling

seals the rip of the page, fixes the rip of the page.

 

I fall in breathing difficulties, my eyes turn upside-down and I was having seizure.

 

Now, I come back to life and it’s time to meet you.

The hand of the star that won’t return, as if I could grasp it,

points at the globe, I choose the place of the destination.

Whatever I will do, I want to meet you

 

Because I want to read with you the dream in which I took note of “How to not forget you”.

 

You keep using your heart as a shield, but when one day someone will satisfy it, it will seep from the cracks.

Every time I think about this, my scars hurt, but will it be okay if I recorded my overflowing love and made it explode?

 

If it’s this kind of dream, I want to keep sleeping.

The me who sinks and re-emerge, like an ECG stands up and lives.

 

Now, I come back to life and it’s time to wake up.

The hand of the star that won’t return, as if I could grasp it,

points at the globe, I choose the place of the destination.

Whatever I will do, I want to meet you

 

Because I want to cross with you the reality frozen in the “I don’t want to see anything”.

 

You keep on relying on that medicine and when one day someone will make something happen, there will be no reaction.

From the iron sky spikes fall but, every time I make them pierce me to protect you, it’s fine even if I take too much of them.

 

If it’s this kind of dream, I want to keep sleeping.

The me, who outright rises up, like an ECG lives with a annoying sound

And continues to live in a dream.

Notes and others

I hate translating Vistlip songs because I never feel like I used the right words to convey their message and the atmosphere they wanted to create: this song is no exception and if I keep reading it again I will end changing pretty much everything. But I really wanted to translate this anyway, because I loved this song from the very first time I listened to it.

As you can tell from the title, the song is a dream (rem sleep is the moment of the night in which we dream) and therefore there may be some things that seem weird in the lyrics but they are there to create the imagery of a dream. The style of the lyrics is really cryptic and uses a lot the “suspensive form” which gives the impressions that things are happening in a twitchy way  (like something happens, then pause, and then suddenly something else happen), just like usually things happen a dream. The ECG reference refers to line of the exam which goes up and down emitting that beeping sound until the patient is alive, which, in the song, means that the “me”, who the artist dreamt  and wants to let out his feelings, is still not dead.

One thought on “Vistlip – Rem Sleep Translation

Leave a Reply

