Plastic Tree – 落花 (Rakka) Translation and Romaji

Kanji

Romaji

Title: Rakka

Kūkyokan tekisetsu nano sore uta ni shitemiteruno kore

saihate ni tadoritsuita yōna guradēshon ima yoake

Nanzenkai konna kanji dakke? Jikokeihatsu sura shōshi

demo kyō wa iya kyō mo nandakedo mata asu mo ko no mama de

 

Me no mai ni sentakushi ga atte shirishokuna kanjō de erande

tadashiku mo machigaette mo nakute sugiteku no hibi

 

Muge ni saite wa chiriochishi hana kaze wa doko ni kokoro sarau no?

Wasurekataki to kioku o ōeba azayakana sama boku dake ga sukeru

 

Futo kidzuku to ni, sanbun, neteta zureteru byōshin susumu

Uwa no sora sonzai nakunatte kieteku kankaku wakaru?

 

Ketsumatsu o wasureteku ronri unmei mo jikohihan mo jōka

hitsuyō ka fuhitsuyō janaika toikakete hibi

 

Ware o wasureshi kiseki tsuka no ma kaze ni koto no ha sawaide yamanu

Ureshikanashiki tomedonaki kana nigiyakana mama yume no yau ni tojiru

 

Naa dareka itsumademo soba ni ite wa kuremaika

Zen sureba kono yōna gukō datte imi o motsu

Nee dōzo suki katte ni odottettekudasai na

mō dakedo jikangire anten garandō

 

Muge ni saite wa chiriochishi hana kaze wa doko ni kokoro sarau no?

Wasurekataki to kioku o ōeba azayakanaredo anata wa donata?

Yue ni furenu e sora to shireba sayonara itsuka

sekai eto ochiru

 

Translation

Title: Falling Flowers

 

I’m trying to make this feeling of void into this song

and it’s like I’ve finally reached the last gradation of the daybreak.

How many thousand times have I already felt like this? Even my self-development seems ridiculous,

but even today, even if it’s another boring today, will stay the same tomorrow.

 

There are the days in which in front of my eyes there are many choices, and I’m selflishly taking my decision,

but still, there aren’t right or wrong choices.

 

The flowers bloom, and falling, they scatter indifferently, where is the wind carrying my heart?

If I had to chase my hard to forget memories, only myself will brightly show through.

 

Suddenly, I realized it, and I’ve slept for two or three minutes, but the second hand of the clock keeps moving and goes on.

Do you understand this sensation of ceasing to exist and disappear without feeling it?

 

There are days in which I forget the conclusion, my logic, my destiny, my self-criticism and salvation from my sins,

and I ask myself if it’s really necessary or not.

 

There are season in which, for a brief moment, I forget who I am and the words* echo non-stop in the wind.

Is there an end to joy and suffering? And while (the words) are still throbbing with life, I close them in the night rain of a dream.

 

Hey, can someone please stay by my side forever?

By doing so, even if it may sound dumb, it’s actually full of meaning

Hey, do please dance as you like,

but we’ve already ran out of time, lights out, the stage is empty.

 

The flowers bloom, and falling, they scatter indifferently, where is the wind carrying my heart?

If I had to chase my hard to forget memories, even if you shine so vividly, who are you?

And finally, when one day I’ll find out that all of this is an unreachable fantasy, I’ll say goodbye to the world

and I’ll crash right down into it.

 

Notes and Other

*= “the words” to whom Ryutarō is referring are the words of Japanese poetry of Heian Period which had to be sincere and to talk about feelings and nature and the between them (this is a very short definition for an enormous, if you want to know more just ask me or try researching by yourself starting from here).

The song talks about the most classical Japanese concept of beauty, often depicted as falling cherry tree flowers: it a complicated mix of beauty, and, since when flowers fall they are already dead, of melancholy and the thought that everything is fleeting and transient just like in a dream (and actually much more, but that’s too much to explain). This concept works for arts, but for life as well, that’s why many writers talked about this topic. Moreover, the way many phrases are written, directly links the language to the one used in Heian period.

I mean, it’s practically a whole piece of Japanese culture in a single song, and it’s impossible to describe it without writing paragraphs and paragraphs of incomprehensible words and boring everyone to death. If you want to know more, just ask me and I’ll try my best to answer.

One thought on “Plastic Tree – 落花 (Rakka) Translation and Romaji

Leave a Reply

