Dadaroma – 夢タラレバ (Yume Tarareba) Translation

Kanji-Romaji

Translation

Title: If it was just a dream…

 

From a gently coloured faucet semen drops,

in the night of the Dakota*, the imitators play tag.

 

My mind is dead,but my tear is not dead.
Why is it?

 

I melted into the night, what if it was just a dream…

This philosophy of laughing,

will you teach me such an impossible thing to me?

Look behind this picture story show, don’t be alone

and close your eyes in your lukewarm coffee time.

 

As soon as the sun falls down everyone becomes gentle

and pretend not to see.

 

My mind is dead,but my tear is not dead.
Why is it?

 

I melted into the night, what if it was just a dream…

This philosophy of laughing,

will you teach me such an impossible thing to me?

It’s already too late, it won’t come back, my shivering heart

melted into this meaningless scotch whisky.

 

John Lennon** is dead

John Lennon** is dead

John Lennon** is dead

John Lennon** is dead

 

I melted into the night, what if it was just a dream…

I get embraced by Alan***,

inside the cities there are just lies.

Behind the picture story show there is nothing?

If only the me of that time could come back…

I melted into the night, what if it was just a dream…

This philosophy of laughing,

I get used to the things impossible to me.

It’s already too late, it won’t come back, but if I could wish of something,

please embrace me…

 

Notes and Other

Words in italic are in English in the original lyrics.

*=The “Dakota” is the last hotel in which John Lennon slept with Yoko Ono before he died.

**=Yep, it’s truly the John Lennon we all know.

***=I’m not sure who this Alan is supposed to be: there are too many Alan who worked together with the Beatles.

We all know the words “You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one” written by John Lennon and I think Yoshiatsu took inspiration from such words to write a song about not being able to dream about a future, but just wishing to dream in order to forget.

One thought on “Dadaroma – 夢タラレバ (Yume Tarareba) Translation

Leave a Reply

