有村竜太朗 (Arimura Ryutaro) – また、堕月さま (Mata otsukisama) Translation

Kanji

Translation

Title: Once again, the moon sinks down*

 

The fresco** sky is transparent and we, under it, are just naive beings,

perhaps, instead of forgetting,

we hide and show even our memories, it seems so foolish.

Even though we have already read them, we count their number and wait for an answer,

Care about me! Leave me alone! You are so annoying! Our self-consciousness is excessive,

Just entwine the thread between the pinky fingers***!

 

What reflect in my eyes are useless things, I’ll chase only the things floating by my eyes.

 

Laughing moon, the difference between dream and reality is merely words.

Since our heart can’t be connected, I know the meaning of this darkness,

What we swore with our promise is a nearby far place,

if you realize it, it’s so sad, so sad.

 

I’ve been carried off and the sky is void, somewhere there’s surely someone with an heart pattern almost identical to mine,

all this things are obstacles, even memories are just after-images,

even though I’d like to be fooled by them, it’s impossible.

 

If children songs are in the end just lies, it seems like flowers exist just to wither away.

 

The sinking moon drips, I asked something to the night but there was no response,

I understand the vague principle that we’ll forget the principle,

Since we are thorn to pieces**** because of our promises, we’ll vanish

into a nearby far place, it’s so beautiful, so beautiful.

 

The memories have no end, don’t you think? One day, the morning will not come.

 

Laughing moon, the difference between dream and reality is merely words.

Since our heart can’t be connected, I know the meaning of this darkness,

What we swore with our promise is a nearby far place,

if you realize it, why is that?

 

The sinking moon drips, I asked something to the night but there was no response,

I understand the vague principle that we’ll forget the principle,

Since we are thorn to pieces**** because of our promises, we’ll vanish

into a nearby far place, it’s so sad, so beautiful.

 

Notes and Other

*=pretty much all the titles of the tracks of this album are wordplays. This one sounds like he’s referring to the moon using the honorific form (put “o/go” before the word and add “sama” after). It’s written with the words which I used for the title.

**= it’s a painting technique. It hints at the fact that the sky looks like it has been painted.

***=In Japan, children make promises by tying their pinky fingers together. Also, it is said that the red thread linking to lovers together is actually tied to their pinky fingers.

****= the word means “to be thorn off” but it’s out of context and, if you only listen to the songs, it just sounds like the verb for “give one’s word for a promise”.

 

If you liked the article you might consider tipping me a coffee on my ko-fi page. It’s a cheap and effective way to support the blog and the work I put in it without being forced to any monthly subscription of sort. You can also attach a message to your donation!

One thought on “有村竜太朗 (Arimura Ryutaro) – また、堕月さま (Mata otsukisama) Translation

Leave a comment