ポルカドットスティングレイ (Polkadot Stingray) – 煌めく (Kirameku) Translation

Kanji-Romaji

Translation

Title: Glimmer

 

I thought it would be endless,

but unexpectedly, rather too quickly,

the scenario changes its colour, don’t you think?

 

Hearing the sound of falling in love

is something so great, no matter how many times I try to mock it,

my field of vision remains glittering.

 

I want to know everything of you!

I can’t understand anything by just following you with my eyes.

I want to know everything of you!

What are you seeing right now?

 

The fleeting seasons melt away,

please, pick up with you the everyday which won’t come back

and a bit of regrets

and, if you can, stay by my side just for a bit!

In these days which change colour

with a speed such to leave me behind,

there is you, laughing.

 

Keeping on watching you only

has made everything faster,

except that, there’s nothing else,

without any confidence, I look up at the sky*.

 

The unending rhythm has a fast pace

but when our eyes met, time stopped for a second

leaving me without a chance.

 

While I’m like this, you

may be laughing with some people I don’t know.

While I’m like this, you

would be so detestable to me**.

 

The world will wear its colours,

the unchanging make my face in an unknown way.

Leave behind that ordinary life!

Every time our eyes meet, I feel for the first time

the time stopping for a second and the feeling of not finding any word.

 

While you are doing this, you

are so detestable

to a person you don’t know***.

 

Look at me just a little bit!

I’m going to speak so listen to my stupid talk!

If you can, stay by my side just for a bit!

Now, with a glitter so shiny to leave my behind,

you laughed

 

Am I no good?

Let me hear what you think!

And, in the end, if you could be just by my side for a bit,

even without being able to say any word, that would be fine.

 

Notes and Other

*=It is a very used sentence in Japanese ancient poetry, but rather unusual to be found in such a song. It indicates the feeling of not being able to do something and contemplating such thing.

**= The person which made the protagonist fall in love is so dear that seeing him/her laughing with a different person, would automatically make the protagonist envious. I felt like I had to clarify it.

***= Same as the note before, but the way the sentence is phrased puts emphasis on the “person you don’t know” who, I can assume, is the protagonist.

A love song about the feeling felt when meeting a beloved person. Compared to the previous songs of the band, it sounds more bright and resentful… maybe because it talks about the beginning of the love story? Nobody knows, still, it is really heart-warming listening to a song in which Love is portrayed as something that makes everything glimmer with a special light making even time stop.

 

If you liked the article you might consider tipping me a coffee on my ko-fi page. It’s a cheap and effective way to support the blog and the work I put in it without being forced to any monthly subscription of sort. You can also attach a message to your donation!

One thought on “ポルカドットスティングレイ (Polkadot Stingray) – 煌めく (Kirameku) Translation

Leave a comment