Reign – Pupa Translation

Kanji

Translation

 

Here is a colorless forest. Endlessly quiet and calm.

The forest asked me

“Are you going to rot by remaining a pupa?”

 

I rest inside the forest, being so calm like that,

please tell me (there is) another way

Is there room for other choices?

 

I just want to stay here. I just want to be quiet.

Longing? Dreaming? I don’t need it.

 

I don’t want to change me. My life

Pierce through my back.

 

The light filters through the trees, the sky which has stolen my heart is to high,

I can’t reach it!

I simply just gaze to the sky for which I yearn,

I’m a [pupa].

 

The forest still asks me. (Looks like) As if you can read my mind. So I can’t answer.

The [pupa] shuts its mouth.

 

Why? If the answer is already visible there’s no reason not to keep my mouth closed.

Why? I don’t understand it myself, what should I do?

 

Even now, in the monochrome forest, the [pupa] remains like that.

Can I become a [butterfly]?

I understood* the past to which I turned my back on and the future didn’t say anything and I gave up on it.

 

-Vividly-

 

The light filters through the trees, the sky which has stolen my heart is to high,

I can’t reach it!

I simply just gaze to the sky for which I yearn,

I’m a [pupa].

 

Notes and Other

Words in Italic are in English in the original lyrics.

*=the verb has a more profound meaning as “to look, see through and fully understand everything”.

It’s interesting to see how band like Reign still can compose “old school” Visual Kei songs without making them feel outdated in any way. The pupa symbolizes the potential of becoming something new, of evolution, still, the choice of writing it inside “[]” visualize the idea of prison of this state.

Good song, still not deluded by this band, making me remember some “Eccentric Agent” vibe.

 

If you liked the article you might consider tipping me a coffee on my ko-fi page. It’s a cheap and effective way to support the blog and the work I put in it without being forced to any monthly subscription of sort. You can also attach a message to your donation!

4 thoughts on “Reign – Pupa Translation

  1. Thanks for this translation, I love this band 😍
    And I have one question, could you translate songs of Schwartz:Mist? I love this band but i can’t find any 💔

    Like

    1. Hi, I tried to search for some kanji lyrics but couldn’t find any. If you find some you can send me a link and I’ll gladly translate any song fot you. Bye!

      Like

Leave a comment