sleepyhead – Hopeless Translation

Kanji

Translation

 

I don’t need anything, anything, anything at all,

please, erase everything!

This is such an empty world full of harshness

so rescue us!

 

We’ll always bad at saying “I’m sorry” and “Thanks”,

we won’t be able to turn the bond between us that let us the emotions on our face into our place to be.

 

I don’t need anything, anything, anything at all,

please, erase everything!

If actually this is such an empty world full of harshness

please deceive me with a prettier lie!

 

I spit out so many times words like “Farewell” or “I love you”

and even if hate being all alone, I can’t choose to be together with someone…

 

The more someone embraced me, the more it felt like I was going to be lonelier and lonelier,

Why someone can feel love for a body that has a different warmth than one’s own?

 

I don’t need anything, anything, anything at all,

please, erase everything!

I just crave for something that can satisfy

my empty, weak heart pretending to be strong.

 

No matter how much I hurt and disgrace someone else, the scar you left me won’t vanish,

the people who are reborn as the aggressor are always the weakest.

 

I got it wrong, I got it wrong but even so I kept searching,

but even if I got an answer in my hands,

it is still an ordinary sample answer*.

 

It would be better if you created your own reality with your hands.

 

It was a long way around to say that, right? If we could laugh together, than would be just fine.

 

Notes and Other

*= it’s the kind of answer you can find in a text book for exercising at writing short essays, very common in Japan.

A sad song about the impossibility of creating a true relationship with anyone: the title really says a lot about the point of view of Takeru on the matter. One thing that I want to point out is that the works of Takeru with Sleepyhead give a lot of perspective on his previous works in SuG: whereas SuG was positive oriented, always trying to put suffering towards a positive goal (SICK’S is a great example of this), in sleepyhead the positive note at the end looks a lot more like some kind of compromise between unsatisfaction and sadness. I think that anyone willing to dig through the link between the works of Takeru in SuG and the ones in sleepyhead may find some really interesting stuff.

 

If you liked the article you might consider tipping me a coffee on my ko-fi page. It’s a cheap and effective way to support the blog and the work I put in it without being forced to any monthly subscription of sort. You can also attach a message to your donation!

One thought on “sleepyhead – Hopeless Translation

Leave a comment